Chaos, Homework, & Parties

by sharanpaul1

Being organized will not make you popular with classmates that are not organized.  Indeed some make fun of me because I work ahead as much as possible, and have my homework done before the due date.  I don’t mind, those are the kids that never complete an assignment on time, or stay up late the night before to finish a paper.  I get better grades by working ahead, because it gives me time to do a good job on each assignment, I am not just throwing something together at the last minute.  But I am not going to lie, there are times when I just do not want to do homework.  I would much rather be shopping, baking, even doing nothing.  And those are the times, I sit down and force myself to concentrate, because I know that if I don’t do it now, I will have to pass up something that comes up at the last minute, something really fun.  I never want to be ‘that kid’–the one who says he can’t go to the movies, or a party, because he has homework to do.  So, I work ahead.

When you are surrounded by chaos, you defeat yourself before you even get started on homework.  For example; if your desk is covered in random mail, dirty dishes, pocket change, and a pair of pliers, it becomes necessary to clean it off before you can start.  So you go to throw away the old mail, uh oh, the trash needs to be taken out, take the dishes to the kitchen, uh oh, the sink is full of dirty dishes that need washed, pick up the pocket change, uh oh, better check the bank account, and where did the pliers come from?  An hour (or two) later, you still have not started what you intended to have finished by now.  Taking a few minutes to put things in their proper place at the moment, can save you the hours it can take to sort it all out and put away later.  Keeping your dorm room, apartment, or living space neat and tidy not only prevents chaos from taking over, it can save you time.  Time you can use to work ahead on your class assignments, and be able to attend every party that sounds like fun.

Chaos is not conducive to organization.  Almost everyone has a cell phone, and those cell phones have calendars.  Take each syllabus and set up reminder alerts on your phone for every assignment.  We pay a lot of money for cell phones, it is time to make them work for us.  If you do not have a cell phone, get a small calendar and carry it around.  It may not be able to alert you with  the new Skylit Drive tune, but you can see at a glance what is due and when.  Use any and all technology at your disposal to cut study and homework time in half.  Get your classmates together for email Study Buddies–six or eight people in a group means you only have to do one or two review sheets for tests.  Twitter groups can get you an answer in real time–compete with pictures of graphs or charts.  Text groups can give you yet another way to be reminded of assignments, quizzes, or tests.  Technology, that you use every single day, can help you get through school more efficiently, and it is all right there in your pocket!

Being organized makes you feel good about yourself.  And who doesn’t want to feel good about themselves?  When you are organized at home, at school, even at work, you can get more done in less time, leaving more time for the things you really want to do.  It may take a while to get used to being organized, putting things away, cleaning up after yourself, getting calendars set up, but the benefits far outweigh the effort.  I know where my car keys are.  I keep all my school supplies in the same place, no searching for a highlighter or notebook.  My bookbag is packed, complete with snacks, the night before.  The dishes are done and my desk is clear, ready for homework.  Because I am organized and have eliminated as much chaos as I can from my life, I can go with Rachel to see our friends, blessthefall, stay out all night, and still pass my History test the next day with an A.

And those kids who poke fun at me for working ahead……Let’s just say that I do not see their names on the Dean’s List, like mine!

